Dealing with unprofessional people in the work place

By Medea Giordano

Have you ever found yourself dealing with someone completely unprofessional in the one place people should absolutely be professional? If you have, you know it can be one of the most frustrating things to handle. But don’t be discouraged. If you find yourself gritting your teeth in order to stop yourself from saying something you regret, you have already excelled.

Having a job is very important to me. Even though I’m in college, I don’t like the feeling of not getting paychecks but I recently found a job on my campus and was so excited to finally be working again. I even agreed to wake up at 7am, which is something I don’t do, not for anyone, so you know I was excited. Little did I know, the office I was dealing with may be the most unprofessional office out of the entire campus. I got through my first weekend fine, only to be yelled at on Monday morning for something I had no control over. (Scheduling issues – the office’s job, not mine) Inside, I was fuming. I could have called the woman out for being the world’s worst boss, and make her feel very stupid in front of her other employees. I felt like I could have flipped the desk over but instead, I maintained my composure and got the problem figured out. Instead of getting myself into shit, I got shit done.

Sure, when I left my “boss” probably had a lot to say about me, something I’ve witnessed her do already. But, in the long run, I’m at least 5 years younger than her, maybe more, and I was able to act calm and composed and like a professional. Unlike her. If you can handle yourself under this type of pressure, it will get you far.

You would think professionalism is a must in the job world. Well, you’re wrong. But no matter how unprofessional your superiors are, if you can smile and be professional yourself no matter what type of job you’re in, you’ve already won.

Published by

medeagiordano

Medea is a freelance writer and photography enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

