How important is marriage?

I recently read an article from Pew Research on the decline of marriage. The article stated “the share of American adults who have never been married is at an historic high.” Even though I can see both sides of the debate, this honestly just makes me sad. I think it’s obvious that times have changed from when the normal thing was to be married at 18 years old, and that is probably for the better, but I could not imagine a life without marriage at all.

Because my parents have been married since they were in their early 20s, I have always just seen it as a thing you do. I think marriage is so beautiful and I can not wait for that day to come for me.

If you are in a committed relationship with someone who you can see yourself spending the rest of your life with, why would you not want to celebrate that? I think that marriage could make a couple’s bond even stronger and for me, at a certain point I wouldn’t want to have a ‘boyfriend’ anymore…I’d want to have a husband. As I get older and more mature, I would want my relationship to also become more mature, and to me, marriage is that mature next step.

I’m really interested in hearing other peoples opinions on this though and may decide to write a short piece for my school’s newspaper. If you’d like to contribute please don’t hesitate to comment!

Published by

medeagiordano

Medea is a freelance writer and photography enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

