Home for the holiday

The first semester I was in college, I would come home any chance I got. As each semester went by I found the trips home becoming more and more infrequent. Now, in my third year away, I’m home again for Thanksgiving. And I’m happy, don’t get me wrong. When I’m away I miss my family and my pets and my house but I no longer feel that pull to be here for much longer than I need to be. I almost feel like I have cabin fever.

I feel like I grew out of this town but nobody else did. If my family wasn’t here the chances of me visiting again would be very slim. I think this a normal step in life though, isn’t it? You have to grow up and become your own person eventually right?

As much as I think it’s normal, it does sometimes make me sad. Like I’m a stranger in the place I lived for 18 years. It’s where I’m from and will always be where I’m from but this town is starting to feel less and less like home.

At least I have an amazing family to be thankful for, without them I wouldn’t be who I am today.

Published by

medeagiordano

Medea is a freelance writer and photography enthusiast.

One thought on “Home for the holiday”

Leave a Reply

