Negative Space Nails

I am obsessed with nail art. I got into it a few years ago when I finally decided to stop biting my nails, which looked more like stumps than actual nails. In order to let them grow, I always kept them painted but plain nails can get boring so I taught myself through trial and error (& with the help of Pinterest) to do fun nail art. It’s much cheaper than getting it done at a salon and it’s fun to treat yourself to an at home salon day!

Today I did a really easy design but it’s one that I’ve been recently obsessed with: Negative space nails with a matte top coat.

{I ended up changing some nails at the last minute…you’ll see if you continue reading. One thing about painting my nails to avoid biting them is I’ve become so picky about what they look like that I can redo my nails two or three times in a day. Thankfully, that doesn’t happen that often!}

Last week I did another version of negative space nails that were a bit more complicated. Today, I thought I’d show you a really easy, fast way to get a great manicure.

nail polish emoji First, I started with two Essie colors, Minimalistic (the pink) and Petal Pushers (the grey.) IMG_2866

nail polish emoji I used chevron nail stickers (you can get them for less than $3 on Amazon!) For my middle finger I used just one to set off the tip and ended up adding another one later for the top. For my ring finger I used two to create a bigger negative space.

IMG_2859IMG_2861

If you’re a nail art lover as well and you don’t use nail tape, I suggest that you reconsider! Amazon sells several different kinds for only a few dollars. I have 30 roles of skinny tape (that cost $1) in addition to the chevrons and I use it almost every time I do my nails. You can get super complicated-looking designs with ease.

nail polish emojiMake sure the stickers are completely flat against the nail. You can paint right up to the line or completely over it. Then let the paint dry a bit before removing. (I use tweezers to make it easier.) It doesn’t have to be 100% dry but at least tacky. This reduces the risk of pulling any polish that may be on the sticker, which will ruin the overall design.

Here is the finished result:

FullSizeRender

nail polish emojiWhen the nails are basically dry add a matte top coat – I use Sally Hansen Big Matte Top Coat. And, with a minor change in design, here are my nails for the week!

image1(1)

What is your favorite nail art?

Check back soon for more nail art and beauty reviews!

Published by

medeagiordano

Medea is a freelance writer and photography enthusiast.

One thought on “Negative Space Nails”

Leave a Reply

