Review: ZzzQuil VoxBox from Influenster

imageIf you aren’t familiar with Influenster or haven’t seen my previous reviews of their VoxBoxes, I’ll start out by saying that I’m a huge fan of this company. If you get picked to receive a VoxBox, the products are usually catered to you, (based on the snaps you answer, reviews you post and preliminary VoxBox survey answers) like the curly hair shampoo and conditioner I received a few months ago. It’s a great way to try products for free before you commit to spending the cash on something. I have found products I love through Influenster and also found products that don’t work for me. I’ve even found things that I wouldn’t use but my friends definitely would – like a volumizing spray that really serves no purpose to me considering my hair is already gigantic, but my straight-haired friend loved. Even when you don’t get picked for a box, the website/app is incredibly useful for reading real reviews on products. I’m never afraid the reviews are paid for or done by employees of a company like you can run into on a website like Amazon.

 

I’m also hopelessly addicted to skin care, makeup and hair products so I obviously love the chance to get free products in the mail that feel like early Christmas gifts. But, my most recent VoxBox experience was a little different. I have to admit, I was surprised when I opened my email and saw that I was receiving a sample of ZzzQuil – the sleep aid from the makers of trusted medicines NyQuil and DayQuil. When I have a cold I turn to their products to help me power through the day and sleep through the night, so why wouldn’t I try their non-habit forming, strictly for sleeping pills (no pain medicine or otherwise sickness-relieving medicine included)?

 

I recently got a new job and the hours have been a little crazy. I work mornings/afternoons for a couple days, nights for a couple days and sometimes have to do turnarounds like getting home at 11:30 p.m. on Friday and getting to work at 8:30 a.m. on Saturday – entry-level life, am I right? That is a recipe for a weird sleep schedule. As someone who really feels it when I don’t get my eight hours, I have been struggling with the adjustment. So after one 11 o’clock shift I decided to try out ZzzQuil in hopes that I would sleep like a baby and wake up the next day feeling fully rested for the first time in a week or so.

 

The VoxBox only included one dose (two tiny purple gel caps), so I cannot be 100% certain if the product didn’t work or if it was just a bad night, but here is my honest review anyway. About 20 minutes after taking it, I could feel my whole body getting tired the same way that it happens when you take any other nighttime medicine, like a wave of sleepiness sweeps over you. I was so excited to finally sleep, and then … I tossed and turned for hours. I didn’t fall into a deep sleep the way I do when I take NyQuil or Benydryl and I woke up the next day feeling even more exhausted. In the few nights after taking it, I haven’t slept much better. I don’t think the following nights had anything to do with taking ZzzQuil (at least I’d sure hope not), but I certainly don’t feel refreshed. I think I would definitely benefit from a day off where I can sleep as late as I need to (Thursday, where are you?) to make up for the unusual schedule, and even though I can’t say for sure that ZzzQuil doesn’t work, I don’t think I’ll be purchasing the product to try again.

All in all, I’d give this box just one star. A non-habit forming, non-pain or other ailment-relieving sleep aid is a great idea for a product because everyone could use some help sleeping every once in a while but no one wants to become dependent on sleeping pills. But unfortunately, it just fell flat with me.
Has anyone else received this VoxBox or tried ZzzQuil on their own? What was your experience with it?
I received this product complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes, all opinions are my own.
Published by

medeagiordano

Medea is a freelance writer and photography enthusiast.

One thought on “Review: ZzzQuil VoxBox from Influenster”

Leave a Reply

